I suggest you ...

A better solution for hosting both private and public content

I've struggled to set my site up with two Homepage views - one private and the other public. I'm not a Pro managing separate clients and events (although this solution could apply there as well). I'm an amateur photographer and dad who uses Smugmug primarily to share memories with my family and friends (aka the private view). However I also like to display some small portion of content to the anonymous public visitor (aka the public view). This suggestion is for people who want to have their Homepage and all content display in one of these two modes depending on who the visitor might be. First a few of the problems:

1) Unlisted galleries are a good idea, but they blow the whole Categorical structure. If I have private content I now need to send someone a link, which they'll likely loose in time. I can't send them a private 'Family' category link, and let them browse all of my private family content. But then there's...

2) Sharegroups, which almost solve the above problem, but come with their own. For one they only allow galleries to be added, and since I cannot put a Category in a Sharegroup, I cannot simply say - okay here's all my Family stuff, with all of its subcategories and galleries, and one unlisted link to all of it. On top of that, the entries are static, so I have to manually add galleries as they become available.

3) Site-wide passwords. We all know passwords blow, last thing we want is yet another password to forget. Site-wide passwords are almost cool, except they blow the whole concept of a Homepage, so then, there's no way for me to display any of my public stuff to the anonymous visitor... Or maybe I just want a couple smart galleries to display on my Homepage to people who don't have the site-wide password.